Language family: Indo-European

Language Group: Indic

Geographical use: India, on Fiji, in Guyana, on the Maledives, on Mauritius, in Therai in Nepal, and in Singapore

Information: Hindi is actually = Urdu, but for political reasons it is usually noted as a separate language and it is also written in a different script (devanagari). With the name Hindi we often indicate the language, but in reality it is a collective noun for western Hindi (around Delhi – consists of literary Hindi and Urdu), eastern Hindi (in Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh) and Hindustani. Hindi is spoken by around 180 million people.

Hindi has no capital letters.