Alternative name(s): Hebreeuws (nl), hebreiska (sv)

Language family: Afro-Asian

Language Group: Semitic

Geographical use: Israel

Information: When the Jews returned to Palestine in the 19th century, Hebrew became a living language again. It was recognized as the official language of Israel in 1948. Hebrew is written from right to left and uses an alphabet of 22 characters. The vocabulary is based on Bible Hebrew. The syntax is based on the Mishnaic Hebrew. The pronunciation was borrowed of the Sephardic Jews who lived in Turkey, Greece and Bulgaria. A great number of words needed to be borrowed in Hebrew. The Lithuania born Jew Eliezer ben Yehuda made 4,000 new words using biblical Hebrew sources.

 Hebrew has no capital letters.


Hebrew - Old