Alternative name(s): Eesti (et), Ests (nl), estniska (sv)

Language family: Uralic

Language group: Finnish-Ugrian

Geographical use: Estonia

Information: There are around 1 million speakers. Estonian has two main dialects. The northern dialect, Tallinn, is used in the largest part of the country and is the basis of the literary language. The southern dialect is spoken south of Tartu. The first written sources in Estonian date back to the 16th century.