cuneiform script

The Cyrillic alphabet was designed at the end of the 9th century for the (Old Church) Slavic language, and is derived of the Greek capitals. It is named after the 'Apostle of the Slaves', Cyrillus (825-869) but was probably designed by his pupil Kliment of Ohrid. The Cyrillic alphabet consists of 43 characters of which 24 are Greek letters from the 8th to 10th centuries, 2 Hebrew letters, and other sources for the other characters. The East Slavic languages and some of the South Slavic languages are still written in the Cyrillic alphabet. It is also used in an adapted form by around 100 non-Slavic minority languages in the ex-USSR.



Cuneiform script

Demotic script